My Rush To Crochet

My rush to crochet and craft has to do with one thing… Time. It’s only a matter of time before arthritis seizes the normally quick movements of my hands.  This is not something that is going to happen tomorrow, but arthritis’s effects are looming in my future.  My grandmother and mother both had/have it and I have to admit I’m scared of the day when I can’t close my hands anymore.  Even now, I can feel my hands getting older.  Every once in a while they click into a position and I have to move my fingers with the other hand to get them going again.

My Rush To Crochet
My mother may kill me for saying this but she’s in her 70s and has shown signs of stiff fingers for years. I turn 40 this year and maybe this is my midlife crisis catalyst.  I guess crocheting my way through my 30s and 40s is cheaper than going out and buy a crazy sports car or motorcycle like a man would, right?
===========
The Mayo Clinic says this about arthritis:

Arthritis is inflammation of one or more of your joints. The main symptoms of arthritis are joint pain and stiffness, which typically worsen with age. The most common types of arthritis are osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis.

Osteoarthritis causes cartilage — the hard, slippery tissue that covers the ends of bones where they form a joint — to break down. Rheumatoid arthritis is an autoimmune disorder that first targets the lining of joints (synovium).

========

So if you see me crocheting at school pick ups, doctor’s appointments, in the car while my husband is driving or any other insane moments please know I’m not crazy but more making the best use of my time before my time is up.

What’s your motivation for what you do?

I’d love to know that I’m not the only one that feels this way!

TFYW_logo

One thought on “My Rush To Crochet

  1. msaudreyc says:

    I am afraid later on I will regret not trying to do my blog a full time gig. What is the worse that could happen if I tried? I fail? I can live with that. Good on you for forging on ahead, we are all racing against time and ourselves

    Like

Leave a Reply

