Can’t Stop. Won’t Stop.

Can'tStopWon'tStopThe old adage goes… I’ll sleep when I’m dead and at this point I think that’s the only time I’ll sleep.  I’m not complaining mind you, at least not this morning.  I got up during my “shop hours” and crocheted an item that needed to be shipped today.  I thought I’d made one in the size the customer ordered, but they were too big so I started around 4:45 am and it was about 5:40 and my item is ready to be packed up and shipped today.

I’ve had a shop on Etsy for a few years now, but after revamping and getting a new name for my shop I feel like a newbie all over again.  My order came in on the 7th, but didn’t clear payment until the 9th and now today is the 10th and I’m shipping.  It’s still within my 3-5 business day time frame, but I made sure to contact the customer a few times to let them know what was going on.  In my other shop either I wasn’t paying attention to how long it took to get payment or it just was really fast so I didn’t need to think about it.  This was a good test run though.  Now I know what to expect when paying Direct and I can assure the next customer that I’m on the job and handling the order in the proper amount of time.

My shipping costs still are something that boggle my mind.  Since I have so many items I try to do fair shipping pricing, but I also have to take into account the dollar amount of the packing materials.  Somethings, like what I worked on this morning are easy, but other bulkier items like blankets are harder to estimate shipping.  I’m sure as I go along I’ll master this part of my business but for now I’m probably going to lose a little profit on each sale due to shipping costs.

Back to the 4 am thing… I just have to say that this is a great way for a mom to start her day.  The thing about being a mom is that your job is never done.  You always have one more thing that needs to get washed or folded or kid taken somewhere.  With my Etsy business/passion, I get to have a very set schedule as to what happens when I get an order and I’ll tell you after the long week I’ve had, being able to click the order over to “shipped” this afternoon will be a great boost to my day!

TFYW_logo

Leave a Reply

